RMS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

RMS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • This guide covers the NRPP Radon Mitigation Specialist (RMS) credential only, not NRSB or Canadian C-NRPP certifications.
  • The announced blueprint weights Diagnostics 28%, System Design 24% and ASD Installation 23%, together 75% of the exam.
  • Live pages describe 165 total questions; the May 2026 update says 175. Verify your form when you book.
  • The operational exam fee is USD 175 per attempt; retakes require a 30-day wait, with four attempts per 12 months at most.

Which RMS Are You Studying For?

The acronym "RMS" is shared by several unrelated credentials, so start by confirming that you are preparing for the right one. This article is about the Radon Mitigation Specialist (RMS) credential issued under the National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP). It is not the Canadian C-NRPP program, it is not the National Radon Safety Board's Radon Measurement Specialist, and it is not a Radon Mitigation Installer credential. If you need the basics first, our explainers What Is RMS Certification? and What Does RMS Stand For? cover the definitions in plain language.

The RMS is a computer-delivered knowledge examination aimed at people who design and oversee radon reduction systems, typically active soil depressurization (ASD) systems. Passing the exam alone does not make you certified. You still have to complete the NRPP application, agree to the ethics and terms, and satisfy any separate state licensing rules that apply where you work.

Two Exam Forms, One Booking: What the Conflict Means for You

The most important thing to understand before you build a study plan is that NRPP's public materials describe two versions of the RMS exam, and no verified activation notice settles which one a given candidate receives today.

ItemLive operational page (effective Oct. 1, 2024)Announced revision (May 2026 update)
Total questions165175
Scored questions150, one point each160
Unscored pilot questions15, not identified to the candidate15
TimeThree hoursThree hours
Required coursework16-hour measurement course plus 24-hour mitigation course32-hour mitigation course including measurement content, plus lab and field experience
Content structureLegacy sections with installer competencies includedSix-domain blueprint

The Radon Reporter (2026 Issue 1) reports February 2026 approval of the revision and an intended mid-2026 implementation, with no firm go-live date at publication. Meanwhile, the live registration route still describes the older form. The practical advice: study the content common to both versions, confirm the question count and course requirements on the NRPP exam page at the moment you register, and do not assume the number you read in a blog post, including this one, is the number on your screen.

Why this matters for your prep: Course hours, lab work and field experience are prerequisites, not exam time. The exam itself is three hours under both descriptions. Plan your pacing around roughly one minute per scored question with a cushion for calculation items, and treat the exact count as something to verify rather than memorize.

For a deeper look at how the older and newer structures compare, see our RMS Exam Domains guide.

The Six-Domain Blueprint and Where Your Hours Should Go

The latest announced blueprint, labeled "2025 RMS" in NRPP's May 2026 credentialing update, divides the examination into six domains that total 100%. These are examination domains, not course-hour allocations, and they are not asserted to be the form delivered to every candidate today. They are still the best available guide to what NRPP considers important.

DomainWeightStudy priority
1. General4%Light review; fold into other domains
2. Inspection13%Moderate; builds toward Diagnostics
3. Diagnostics28%Highest
4. System Design24%Very high; calculation heavy
5. ASD Mitigation System Installation23%Very high; standards-driven
6. Post-mitigation8%Moderate; easy points if prepared

No per-domain question counts are published, so avoid any resource that claims to tell you exactly how many items each domain contributes. What you can reasonably infer is proportion: roughly three of every four scored items come from Diagnostics, System Design and ASD Installation combined. A candidate who is excellent on those three but neglects the rest can still be exposed, but a candidate who is weak on them has little room to recover.

Diagnostics: The 28% You Cannot Afford to Skim

Diagnostics is the largest single domain, and it is where the exam separates people who have read about mitigation from people who understand how a building behaves. Expect scenario thinking: a described structure, a set of test results, and a question about what the observations imply.

Domain 3: Diagnostics (28%)

This domain is about figuring out how soil gas moves into and through a building and what that means for system selection. Study it as a chain of cause and effect rather than a list of definitions.

  • Pressure-field extension (PFE): understand what diagnostic suction-field testing tells you about how far a suction point's influence reaches beneath a slab, and how weak or strong communication changes your plan.
  • Sub-slab communication: be able to reason about permeable versus tight aggregate and soils, and what each implies for the number and location of suction points.
  • Entry pathways: cracks, slab joints, sumps, floor drains, block-wall voids, crawlspaces and utility penetrations, and which of them influence your sealing and design decisions.
  • Building and HVAC interaction: depressurization, combustion appliances, exhaust equipment and stack effect, and why they affect both radon entry and system performance.
  • Reading pre-mitigation data: knowing what a prior measurement does and does not tell you about the next step.

A useful drill: take any floor plan and, without notes, list where you would perform diagnostics, what result would make you add a suction point, and what result would make you change foundation type strategy. Doing this out loud exposes gaps faster than rereading a chapter.

System Design and ASD Installation: 47% Combined

System Design (24%) and ASD Mitigation System Installation (23%) are two halves of the same competence: deciding what to build and then building it correctly. The exam supplies ANSI/AARST standards and an on-screen calculator during the test, which tells you something about the item style. You are expected to apply standards and perform calculations, not recite them from memory, but you must know where to look and how to interpret what you find.

Domain 4: System Design (24%)

Design questions reward candidates who can size and arrange components logically and justify the choice.

  • Radon fan selection and pipe sizing: the relationship among airflow, suction, pipe diameter, pipe run length, fittings and friction losses. Practice working through these relationships by hand until the logic is automatic.
  • Suction point placement: number and location based on diagnostic findings and foundation type.
  • Foundation-specific strategies: slab-on-grade, basement, crawlspace (including membrane-based approaches), block-wall and sump-related considerations.
  • Exhaust and discharge: routing, termination location relative to openings and roof features, and condensation and drainage considerations.
  • Monitoring and labeling: system-performance indicators and the documentation a system needs.

Domain 5: ASD Mitigation System Installation (23%)

Installation items test whether you know how to turn a design into a compliant, durable, safe system.

  • Sealing and closure: sealants, sump covers, slab penetrations and the reasons each seal matters to performance.
  • Mounting and electrical: fan placement, accessibility, disconnects, wiring practices and vibration or noise considerations.
  • Jobsite safety: worker protection, hazards associated with combustion appliances, and safe handling of tools and materials.
  • Installation quality checks: verifying pipe slope, joints, supports and labeling before leaving the site.

Key Takeaway

When a design or installation question seems to have two defensible answers, return to the supplied standard. The exam is built around ANSI/AARST practice, so the answer that follows the standard's language and intent is the one to choose.

Legacy Section Weights: Why Installer Material Still Matters

Many existing study materials were built around the older structure, in which the RMS exam explicitly included installer competencies alongside specialist ones. The 2021 issuer launch described that design, and the May 2026 comparison identifies the older form as two parts: Part 1 with 85 scored plus 10 pilot items and Part 2 with 65 scored plus five pilot items. That is why published specialist task counts look smaller than the whole exam.

The legacy material appears as two separate distributions, each totaling 100%. They are not fourteen percentages of one pool, and no combined weighting should be inferred.

Legacy installer sectionsWithin-section weightLegacy specialist sectionsWithin-section weight
Communicate with the Client14%Communicate Basic Radon Science9%
Identify Radon Entry Points17%Evaluate Pre-Mitigation Measurement8%
Maintain Jobsite Safety15%Design Radon Mitigation System25%
Implement Mitigation Installation Strategy30%Validate Post-Installation Data12%
Perform Post-Installation Tasks17%Troubleshooting / Implement Corrective Actions17%
Operate in an Ethical and Professional Manner7%Develop / Maintain Worker Health and Safety Plan8%
Maintain Mitigation Quality Assurance Plan12%
Operate in an Ethical/Professional Manner9%

You can use this table as a topic checklist even if you land on the newer six-domain form. Troubleshooting, quality assurance, worker health and safety, ethics and client communication are all fair game in some shape, and they map onto the General, Inspection and Post-mitigation domains of the revised blueprint. One caution: the older candidate handbook's table labels 150 questions without clearly distinguishing the whole-exam denominator from the specialist task counts, so treat it as a topic reference rather than a precise question-allocation guide. For a broader view of what makes the test demanding, read How Hard Is the RMS Exam?

Exam-Day Mechanics: Certiverse, Proctoring and Allowed Resources

The live operational route delivers the exam through Certiverse with live remote proctoring. Older handbook references to Examity are superseded for that route. Knowing the rules in advance removes a surprising amount of stress.

  • Identification and environment: photo ID and a room scan are required, and the session is monitored and recorded.
  • Allowed resources: ANSI/AARST standards, an on-screen calculator and formula resources are supplied. Outside books, notes and personal calculators are prohibited. This is not unrestricted open-book testing.
  • Break: one break of up to five minutes is allowed with proctor permission, so plan accordingly before you start.
  • Scheduling: purchase must be scheduled and completed within 30 days.
  • Retakes: a 30-day wait applies, with no more than four attempts in 12 months.
  • Conduct rules: NRPP's Exam Conduct Requirements (version 5, revised April 25, 2025) govern the session. Read them before test day.
Practice with the tools you will actually have: Because you cannot use a personal calculator, rehearse fan, pipe and airflow arithmetic using an on-screen or basic calculator. Practicing on a scientific handheld you will not be allowed to use is a quiet way to lose time on exam day.

Format details beyond "computer-delivered knowledge examination" are not fully specified in current RMS-specific public materials, and a numeric cutoff is not publicly specified either. NRPP describes a criterion-referenced competent-performance standard set through expert judgment, so do not import another organization's percentage threshold. Our RMS Passing Score and RMS Pass Rate pages explain what is and is not publicly known.

Fees, Prerequisites and the Path to Certification

The published operational fees are straightforward:

ItemAmount
RMS exam fee (per attempt)USD 175
Initial two-year certificationUSD 275
RenewalUSD 275
Exam plus initial certificationUSD 450, before training and other costs

No member versus non-member exam-fee differential is published. The Indoor Environments Association advertises an online study guide at USD 25 for 60-day access, free to members, but that is a study product, not an exam discount, and its paid interior was not reviewed for this article. Training tuition varies by provider and is separate; see RMS Certification Cost for a full budgeting framework.

Under the live operational route, the sequence looks like this:

  1. Complete an NRPP-approved 16-hour measurement course and a 24-hour RMS mitigation course. Coursework is valid for two years.
  2. Register and pass the RMS exam.
  3. Apply for certification within one year of passing and agree to the ethics and terms. The handbook also references a QA/QC attestation and an ID photo.
  4. Check your state's licensing rules separately; certification does not replace them.

The announced revision instead specifies a 32-hour mitigation course that includes the measurement content, plus lab and field experience, and drops the separate 16-hour measurement course. Field-assessment implementation was still being developed at last report, so no field-hour minimum is stated here. Our RMS Requirements page tracks eligibility details, and RMS Training covers course selection.

A Domain-Ordered Study Plan

Methodology matters less than sequencing. The plan below orders the work by how much each domain contributes and how much each depends on the one before it. Adjust the length to your calendar and your course experience.

Week 1

Foundations and Inspection (Domains 1 and 2)

  • Review radon science basics, entry pathways and building-science vocabulary.
  • Skim the ANSI/AARST standards' table of contents so you know where topics live.
  • Take a short diagnostic quiz to find your weakest area.
Weeks 2-3

Diagnostics (Domain 3)

  • Work through pressure-field extension scenarios for each foundation type.
  • Practice interpreting sample test results and deciding the next step.
  • Revisit HVAC and combustion-appliance interactions.
Weeks 4-5

System Design and ASD Installation (Domains 4 and 5)

  • Drill fan and pipe sizing using only a basic calculator.
  • Look up discharge, sealing and labeling rules in the standards until you can find them quickly.
  • Rehearse installation sequences and jobsite safety scenarios.
Week 6

Post-mitigation, Troubleshooting and Full Review (Domain 6)

  • Cover post-installation verification, corrective actions and quality assurance.
  • Take timed practice sets on the RMS Exam Prep practice test site and review every miss.
  • Confirm your exam form, scheduling window and ID requirements.

If you only have time for one habit beyond reading, make it timed practice with immediate review of wrong answers. Questions you miss because of a misread standard are fixable in an afternoon; questions you miss because you never learned the relationship between fan performance and pipe losses take longer. A one-page recap such as the RMS Cheat Sheet is useful for the final days, and you can try practice questions here to benchmark yourself against all six domains.

After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context

Plan for the credential's upkeep early, because the two published renewal pictures also differ.

ItemLive operational programAnnounced replacement
TermTwo yearsTwo years
Continuing education12 hours; at least eight Category I, no more than four Category II24 hours including four standards-review hours
Standards overviewMandatory four-hour mitigation standards overview, included in the 12Four standards-review hours within the 24
Experience documentationNot describedWork-sample/experience documentation introduced; details unresolved
FeeUSD 275Not independently confirmed

Which renewal rules apply to you depends on the cycle you are in, so confirm with NRPP before you start accumulating credits. Our RMS Salary Guide and ROI analysis discuss the career side. A candid note: no credential-specific salary premium has been verified, and job-board salary estimates are not evidence that certification caused higher pay. Typical employers include radon mitigation contractors, home-performance and building-science firms, and inspection companies that add mitigation services; browse RMS jobs for the current picture.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the RMS exam?

The live operational page states 165 total questions, 150 scored plus 15 unscored pilot items, in three hours. NRPP's May 2026 update specifies 175 total, 160 scored plus 15 pilot items, also three hours. Verify which form applies when you register.

What is the passing score?

A numeric cutoff is not publicly specified. NRPP describes a criterion-referenced competent-performance standard set through expert judgment. Do not assume a percentage from another certifying body applies.

Can I bring notes or my own calculator?

No. Outside books, notes and personal calculators are prohibited. The exam supplies ANSI/AARST standards, an on-screen calculator and formula resources, so practice with those tools.

How much does it cost to take the RMS exam?

The published operational exam fee is USD 175 per attempt, and initial two-year certification is USD 275, for USD 450 before training. Retakes require a 30-day wait, with up to four attempts per 12 months.

Does passing the exam make me certified?

No. You must also apply within one year of passing and agree to NRPP's ethics and terms. State licensing requirements are separate and may impose additional steps where you work.

The best preparation respects both the content and the uncertainty: master Diagnostics, System Design and ASD Installation first, keep the legacy topic list in view, and check NRPP's live pages before you book. Start practicing today at RMS Exam Prep.

Ready to pass your RMS exam?

Put this into practice with free RMS questions across every exam domain.