- What the Radon Mitigation Specialist (RMS) Credential Actually Is
- Two Versions of the Rules: Operational vs. Announced Revision
- Current Operational Prerequisites, Step by Step
- What the Announced Revision Would Change
- What the Exam Tests: The Six-Domain Blueprint
- Fees and Costs You Can Verify
- Exam-Day Conditions and Retake Rules
- State Licensing, Renewal and Staying Certified
- A Qualification Plan Sequenced Around the Domains
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The live operational route requires an NRPP-approved 16-hour measurement course plus a 24-hour mitigation course, both valid for two years.
- Passing the exam is not certification; you must apply within one year of passing and agree to ethics and terms.
- An announced revision replaces the two courses with one 32-hour mitigation course plus lab and field experience.
- Published fees: $175 per exam attempt and $275 for the initial two-year certification, totaling $450 before training.
What the Radon Mitigation Specialist (RMS) Credential Actually Is
Before you plan anything, pin down exactly which credential you are pursuing. Here, RMS means the Radon Mitigation Specialist certification issued by the National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP). It is the credential for professionals who design and oversee radon reduction systems in buildings. It is not the Canadian C-NRPP program, it is not the National Radon Safety Board's measurement credential, and it is not a lower-tier installer certificate under another name.
That distinction matters because the radon industry has several overlapping credentials, and their requirements differ. If you are still sorting out terminology, our explainers on what RMS is and what RMS stands for cover the basics, and what RMS certification is explains how the credential fits into the wider radon workforce.
The RMS is a specialist-level credential. The 2021 issuer launch explicitly folded installer competencies into the RMS examination, so a specialist is expected to understand hands-on installation as well as diagnostics and design. That scope shapes both the prerequisites and the exam.
Two Versions of the Rules: Operational vs. Announced Revision
This is the most important thing to understand about RMS requirements in 2026: there are two sets of published rules, and no verified notice settles which one a booking made today will follow.
| Item | Live operational route | Announced revision |
|---|---|---|
| Training | 16-hour measurement course plus 24-hour RMS mitigation course | 32-hour mitigation course that includes the requisite measurement content; no separate 16-hour course |
| Experience component | No degree, employment-hour or reference minimum verified | Lab and field experience; field-assessment details still in development |
| Exam size | 165 total (150 scored plus 15 unscored trial), three hours | 175 total (160 scored plus 15 pilot), three hours |
| Renewal CE | 12 hours per two years | 24 hours per two years, plus work-sample documentation |
Candidates should not assume the newer column is already in force, and they should not assume the older column is safe either. Confirm the version tied to your exam booking before you commit course dollars. The exam differences are unpacked further in our RMS difficulty guide.
Current Operational Prerequisites, Step by Step
Under the live operational requirements, the path to certification runs in a fixed order:
- Complete an NRPP-approved 16-hour measurement course. This builds the measurement foundation: how radon is tested and what pre-mitigation results mean.
- Complete an NRPP-approved 24-hour RMS mitigation course. This covers diagnostics, system design and installation practice. Only courses on NRPP's approved initial-training list count.
- Pass the RMS exam. Coursework is valid for two years, so the exam has to be taken inside that window.
- Apply for certification within one year of passing. This is a hard deadline many candidates overlook.
- Agree to the ethics and terms. The handbook also includes a QA/QC attestation and an ID photo as part of the application.
What is not required (as verified)
The current operational pages do not specify a college degree, a minimum number of employment hours, or professional references. That does not mean no such requirement could exist in your jurisdiction; it means NRPP's published operational route does not state one. If you have seen a competitor site claim a specific experience minimum, treat it with caution unless it traces back to NRPP.
Choosing a training provider
Training is where most of your time and money goes, so choose carefully. Confirm the course appears on NRPP's initial training course list and that its hours match what the exam route you are pursuing requires. Providers vary in format, including online, live remote and in-person options, and in how much hands-on content they deliver. Our guide to RMS training walks through what to look for. Provider marketing, including pass-rate or success claims, is not a substitute for NRPP's own requirements.
What the Announced Revision Would Change
NRPP's announced revision restructures the on-ramp. According to the May 2026 credentialing update and The Radon Reporter, the new route would replace the separate 16-hour and 24-hour courses with a single 32-hour mitigation course that includes the measurement content, and it adds lab and field experience as a qualification element.
Two caveats keep this from being a simple "new rules" story:
- No go-live date was established. The publications say implementation was intended for mid-2026 but did not fix a date.
- The field-assessment piece was still being built. No field-hour minimum or mandatory delivery method has been published, so none should be assumed.
If you are early in your career, the practical advice is to ask your prospective course provider which NRPP pathway their course satisfies today and what happens if the program activates while you are mid-training. A candidate who finishes the old two-course sequence just before the transition may face a different path than one who starts after it, and the transitional rules were not verified.
What the Exam Tests: The Six-Domain Blueprint
Eligibility gets you to the exam; the blueprint determines whether you pass it. The latest announced official blueprint, labeled "2025 RMS" in NRPP's May 2026 update, lists six domains totaling 100%. These are examination domains, not course-hour allocations, and the announcement does not guarantee that every candidate currently sees this exact form. Our complete guide to the six RMS content areas goes deeper on each.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| General | 4% |
| Inspection | 13% |
| Diagnostics | 28% |
| System Design | 24% |
| ASD Mitigation System Installation | 23% |
| Post-mitigation | 8% |
Diagnostics (28%): the heaviest domain
Diagnostics is the largest slice, and it is where specialists earn their title. Expect to reason about how a building and the soil beneath it behave under suction.
- Pressure-field extension: what it tells you and how to interpret readings
- Communication testing logic and what poor extension implies for a design
- Reading a building's conditions to decide where suction points belong
System Design (24%)
Design questions tend to be quantitative. The exam supplies an on-screen calculator and formula resources, so you need to know how to apply the math rather than memorize it.
- Radon fan and pipe sizing decisions
- Matching system components to diagnostic findings
- Applicable ANSI/AARST standards (the exam provides them on screen)
ASD Mitigation System Installation (23%)
This is the installer-competency thread carried into the specialist exam: active soil depressurization done correctly in real structures.
- Installation practices, sealing and routing considerations
- Jobsite safety and worker health during installation
- Quality of workmanship that affects long-term system performance
The remaining three domains are smaller but not skippable. Inspection (13%) covers evaluating the building and pre-mitigation context, Post-mitigation (8%) covers validating results and handling follow-up, and General (4%) covers foundational and professional topics. A thin domain can still decide a close result.
The legacy section structure
Older documentation describes the exam differently, as installer and specialist sections, each with its own within-section weights. For example, the legacy specialist headings include designing a radon mitigation system (25%), troubleshooting and corrective actions (17%), and validating post-installation data (12%). These two legacy distributions are separate 100% scales, not one combined blueprint, so do not add them together or treat them as the six-domain weights above. They explain why specialist task lists look different from the new blueprint.
Question counts: 165 or 175?
The live operational page states 165 total questions: 150 scored at one point each plus 15 unidentified unscored trial questions, over three hours. The May 2026 update specifies 175 total: 160 scored plus 15 pilot questions, also three hours. Because the active form is unresolved, we do not give a single number. The unscored items are indistinguishable from scored ones, so answer everything with equal care. A numeric cutoff is not publicly specified; the handbook describes a criterion-referenced competence standard set by expert judgment. For more, see our RMS passing score breakdown.
Fees and Costs You Can Verify
NRPP publishes the examination and certification fees, which makes the program-controlled part of your budget easy to calculate. Training tuition, which varies by provider, is the larger unknown.
| Item | Published amount |
|---|---|
| RMS exam fee | $175 per attempt |
| Initial two-year certification | $275 |
| Exam plus initial certification | $450 (before training and other costs) |
| Two-year renewal | $275 |
| Optional IEA online study guide | $25 for 60-day access; free to members |
No member versus non-member exam-fee differential is published. The study-guide pricing is for an optional resource and is not an exam-fee discount; its paid contents were not reviewed for this article. These are the published operational prices, not an independently confirmed tariff for the revised program. For the full picture including training, see our RMS certification cost breakdown, and for return-on-investment thinking, is the RMS certification worth it.
Exam-Day Conditions and Retake Rules
Meeting the prerequisites is one thing; sitting the exam under the rules is another. On the live operational route, testing is delivered by Certiverse with live remote proctoring. Older handbook references to Examity are superseded for that route.
- Identity and environment: photo ID and a room scan are required, and the session is remotely monitored and recorded.
- Resources supplied on screen: ANSI/AARST standards, a calculator and formula resources.
- Prohibited: outside books, notes and personal calculators. This is not unrestricted open-book testing.
- Break: one break of up to five minutes, with proctor permission.
- Scheduling: purchase must be scheduled and completed within 30 days.
- Retakes: a 30-day wait between attempts and no more than four attempts per 12 months.
The exam conduct requirements document is version 5, revised April 25, 2025, so read the current version before test day. Because the standards are provided on screen, practice navigating reference material quickly. Knowing where to look is part of the skill. Timing details are covered in our exam dates and scheduling guide.
State Licensing, Renewal and Staying Certified
State rules are a separate layer
NRPP certification does not replace state requirements. Many states license or certify radon professionals on their own terms, and some use NRPP credentials as one input. A state may ask for application forms, fees or additional steps beyond NRPP certification. Iowa publishes an application guide for its own mitigation specialist credential, but that is a jurisdiction-specific example, not an NRPP rule. Check your state radon program before assuming NRPP certification alone lets you work. Employers hiring for these roles are covered in our RMS jobs overview, and pay context is in the RMS salary guide. No credential-specific salary premium was verified.
Renewal: 12 hours or 24?
Under the live operational program, certification lasts two years, renewal is $275, and you need 12 continuing education hours: at least eight Category I and no more than four Category II. The mandatory four-hour mitigation standards overview counts inside the 12, not on top of it.
The announced replacement requires 24 CE hours per two years, including four standards-review hours, and introduces work-sample or experience documentation. The publications also retain up to four Category II credits and allow up to four nontechnical credits. Renewing under the announced program also involves renewed ethics/terms and QA/QM attestations. The exact work-experience assessment was unresolved, and no installation count or field-hour figure should be assumed. Confirm which cycle applies to you before planning your CE.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat the 12-versus-24 CE difference as settled. Ask NRPP which renewal rules govern your specific certification cycle, then plan CE spending accordingly.
A Qualification Plan Sequenced Around the Domains
Because the two-year validity window on coursework is real, sequence your work so training and exam fall close together. Here is one way to allocate effort that follows the blueprint weights rather than treating all topics equally. For a fuller method, see our RMS study guide.
Confirm the pathway and finish training
- Verify which NRPP route your booking follows
- Complete coursework from an NRPP-approved provider
Front-load Diagnostics and System Design
- These two domains total 52% of the blueprint
- Drill pressure-field extension logic and fan and pipe sizing calculations
Installation, Inspection and Post-mitigation
- ASD installation (23%) and the smaller domains
- Practice using the provided standards efficiently
Simulate exam conditions, then schedule
- Take timed practice at our practice test site
- Book promptly to stay inside the 30-day purchase window
Honest self-assessment helps. Candidates strong in the field often underestimate the calculation-driven design questions, while classroom-strong candidates underestimate installation detail. A timed run on the RMS practice questions shows which side needs work. Note that exam results for the related measurement credential and training-provider success claims are not evidence of RMS pass rates; see what the pass-rate data does and does not show. For a fast review near exam day, use the RMS cheat sheet.
Frequently Asked Questions
The live operational requirements NRPP publishes list approved coursework, passing the exam, applying within one year, and agreeing to ethics and terms. No current degree, employment-hour or reference minimum was verified. The announced revision adds lab and field experience, though its details were still being developed.
On the live operational route, the 16-hour measurement course and 24-hour mitigation course are valid for two years. Plan to sit the exam well within that period so your coursework does not lapse.
No. You must apply for certification within one year of passing, agree to the ethics and terms, and complete the application items such as the QA/QC attestation and ID photo. The initial two-year certification fee is $275.
The live operational page states 165 total questions (150 scored, 15 unscored trial) in three hours, while the May 2026 update describes 175 total (160 scored, 15 pilot) in three hours. Which form your booking receives was not definitively verified.
Retakes require a 30-day wait, and you may make no more than four attempts per 12 months. Each attempt carries the published $175 exam fee, so preparing thoroughly before the first sitting is the cheaper route.
Not automatically. State licensing is separate and varies by jurisdiction. Contact your state radon program to learn whether NRPP certification is required, accepted or supplemented by additional steps.