RMS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

RMS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • NRPP does not publicly specify a numeric RMS cutoff; the handbook describes a criterion-referenced competent-performance standard.
  • Do not import the 70% threshold used by NRSB; it belongs to a different certifying body.
  • The announced blueprint weights Diagnostics 28%, System Design 24% and ASD Mitigation System Installation 23%.
  • The live page states 165 questions (150 scored); a May 2026 update specifies 175 (160 scored). Confirm your form when booking.

The Short Answer: There Is No Published Numeric Cutoff

Every candidate asks the same thing first: what score do I need? For the Radon Mitigation Specialist (RMS) credential from the National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP), the honest answer is that a current numeric cutoff is not publicly specified. You will not find a line on the NRPP exam page, the registration route or the exam FAQs that says "you need X percent." Any article that gives you a confident percentage is either guessing or borrowing the number from somewhere else.

That may feel unsatisfying, but it changes how you should prepare. Instead of aiming for a magic percentage, you are aiming to demonstrate competent performance across the full range of tasks a mitigation specialist performs. This guide explains what is actually known about how the RMS exam is judged, which facts are in conflict right now, and how to build a study plan that does not depend on guessing a cutoff. For the broader picture of difficulty, see How Hard Is the RMS Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

What "not published" really means: The absence of a public number is not a loophole and it is not a hint that the bar is low. It means the standard is set through an expert-judgment process rather than advertised as a flat percentage. Plan for broad competence, not a minimum you can scrape past.

Why You Should Not Borrow a 70% Number

If you search for radon exam passing scores, you will quickly run into a 70% figure. That threshold is associated with the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB), a separate certifying organization. It is not an NRPP RMS rule, and applying it to your NRPP exam would be a category error. NRPP and NRSB are different bodies with different credentials, different handbooks and different exam constructions.

The same caution applies to other places where radon training providers or competitor practice sites quote "typical" pass marks or success rates. Training-provider success claims and results from other radon exams are not substitutes for NRPP data, and they say nothing reliable about the RMS cutoff. If you want context on what is and is not known about success rates, read RMS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

Claim you might seeSource typeReliable for the NRPP RMS exam?
"You need 70% to pass"Associated with NRSB, a different bodyNo
"Our students pass at a high rate"Training-provider marketingNo
Multiple-choice tips from 2014 guidanceHistorical third-party adviceNo, not a current RMS guarantee
Criterion-referenced competent-performance standardNRPP Candidate HandbookYes, as the stated standard

How a Criterion-Referenced Standard Works

The NRPP Candidate Handbook describes the RMS exam standard as criterion-referenced, established through expert judgment of what competent performance looks like. In plain terms, the bar represents the knowledge a minimally competent mitigation specialist should have, rather than a ranking of candidates against one another. You are not competing with the other people testing that week; you are being measured against a defined standard of competence.

Two practical consequences follow. First, there is no curve to hope for: a strong cohort does not raise your bar and a weak one does not lower it. Second, because scoring is tied to competence, the heaviest-weighted technical content matters disproportionately. A candidate who is excellent at ethics and communication but shaky on diagnostics and system design is poorly positioned, because those technical areas carry the most weight.

Scored questions count one point each. The live operational page also states that some trial questions are unscored and unidentified, so you cannot tell which items count. Treat every question as if it counts.

Key Takeaway

Because you cannot identify unscored trial questions and no cutoff is published, the only safe strategy is consistent competence across every domain, weighted toward the technical heavyweights: Diagnostics, System Design and ASD installation.

Two Versions of the Exam: Why the Question Count Is Unclear

Here is where candidates get tripped up. The sources currently disagree about which form is delivered, and no later definitive activation notice has been verified. Until that is settled, you should not assume your booking matches either description. Verify with NRPP and the registration route before test day.

DetailLive operational page (effective October 1, 2024)May 2026 credentialing update
Total questions165175
Scored questions (1 point each)150160
Unscored trial/pilot questions1515
Testing timeThree hoursThree hours
StatusDescribed as the operational formAnnounced revision; no firm go-live date verified

The Radon Reporter (2026 Issue 1) reported February 2026 approval and an intended mid-2026 implementation, without a firm date at publication. The checked live exam page and its linked registration route still describe the older operational form. That is why this article does not give a single question count: presenting either number as the one confirmed current exam would be misleading. If you want to see how the 165-versus-175 conflict affects planning, the RMS Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling guide covers the scheduling side.

Don't confuse course hours with exam time: The three hours refers to testing time only. The 16-hour measurement course, 24-hour mitigation course, lab work and field experience are training and qualification requirements, not part of your exam clock.

Where the Points Live: The Six-Domain Blueprint

The most recent announced official blueprint, labeled 2025 RMS in the May 2026 NRPP credentialing update, lists six examination domains whose weights total 100%. These are examination domains, not course-time allocations, and they are not asserted to be the form every candidate is taking today. Still, they are the clearest public picture of where scored content is concentrated.

DomainWeightPriority
Domain 1: General4%Low weight, quick wins
Domain 2: Inspection13%Moderate
Domain 3: Diagnostics28%Highest
Domain 4: System Design24%Very high
Domain 5: ASD Mitigation System Installation23%Very high
Domain 6: Post-mitigation8%Low to moderate

Add up the top three and you reach 75% of the blueprint. That concentration is the single most useful fact for anyone worried about the unpublished cutoff. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see RMS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.

Diagnostics (28%)

The largest domain rewards candidates who can reason about how air and pressure behave beneath and within a building.

  • Pressure-field extension: how suction reaches across the slab and what affects it
  • Interpreting diagnostic observations to decide whether a design will work
  • Understanding how building conditions influence a system's performance

System Design (24%)

Design questions test whether you can turn diagnostic findings into a workable system.

  • Radon fan and pipe sizing logic
  • Matching components to the conditions you found
  • Using the formula resources and on-screen calculator supplied in the exam

ASD Mitigation System Installation (23%)

Active soil depressurization (ASD) installation is the hands-on core of the credential.

  • Correct installation practice for ASD systems
  • Safety and quality considerations during installation
  • Applying the referenced ANSI/AARST standards to installation decisions

The Legacy Sections and Their Weights

The older RMS exam is where much of the existing study material comes from, and it is built differently. The 2021 issuer launch explicitly included installer competencies within the RMS exam. The May 2026 comparison identifies the older form as two parts: Part 1 with 85 scored plus 10 pilot items and Part 2 with 65 scored plus five pilot items. That is why the specialist task list totals 65 scored items rather than the whole exam's 150.

The legacy material publishes two separate distributions, each totaling 100%. They are not fourteen percentages belonging to one blended exam, and no combined weighting should be invented from them.

Legacy installer sectionsWeight within that distribution
Communicate with the Client14%
Identify Radon Entry Points17%
Maintain Jobsite Safety15%
Implement Mitigation Installation Strategy30%
Perform Post-Installation Tasks17%
Operate in an Ethical and Professional Manner7%
Legacy specialist sectionsWeight within that distribution
Communicate Basic Radon Science9%
Evaluate Pre-Mitigation Measurement8%
Design Radon Mitigation System25%
Validate Post-Installation Data12%
Troubleshooting System Problems / Implement Corrective Actions17%
Develop / Maintain Worker Health and Safety Plan8%
Maintain Mitigation Quality Assurance Plan12%
Operate in an Ethical/Professional Manner9%
A limitation worth knowing: The older handbook's RMS table labels 150 questions without clearly separating these two denominators. The eight specialist headings alone are therefore not a complete whole-exam blueprint. Use them to see which topics exist, not to calculate how many questions you will face.

Exam-Day Format and Conduct Rules

The exam is a computer-delivered knowledge test. The retrieved current operational pages do not give a complete answer-format specification, so do not assume a particular question style beyond what NRPP publishes. Older multiple-choice guidance from 2014 is historical and not a current RMS-specific guarantee.

What is documented about delivery is quite specific. The live operational route uses Certiverse with live remote proctoring, and older handbook references to Examity are superseded for that route. Testing is remotely monitored and recorded, requires photo ID and a room scan, and does not allow outside books, notes or personal calculators. This is not unrestricted open-book testing.

  • Resources provided: ANSI/AARST standards, an on-screen calculator and formula resources are supplied during the exam.
  • Break: one break of up to five minutes is allowed with proctor permission.
  • Scheduling: purchase must be scheduled and completed within 30 days.
  • Conduct rules: the Exam Conduct Requirements are version 5, revised April 25, 2025.

No adaptive delivery was verified, so do not expect the exam to adjust difficulty based on your answers. A practical consequence: because standards and formulas are supplied, memorizing every table is less valuable than knowing where to look and how to apply them under time pressure. A one-page recall aid such as the RMS Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts helps with the concepts you do need in your head.

Fees, Retakes and What Passing Actually Gets You

Because the cutoff is not published, your financial planning should assume you want to pass on the first attempt. The published operational fees are USD 175 per exam attempt, USD 275 for the initial two-year certification and USD 275 for renewal. Exam plus initial certification is USD 450 before training and other costs. No member versus non-member exam-fee differential is published. These are operational prices rather than an independently confirmed revised-program tariff. For a complete breakdown including training, see RMS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

ItemPublished operational figure
Exam feeUSD 175 per attempt
Initial two-year certificationUSD 275
RenewalUSD 275
Retake wait30 days
Attempt limitNo more than four per 12 months

The separately advertised IEA online study guide is USD 25 for 60-day access and free to members, but that is not an exam-fee discount, and its paid interior was not retrieved for this article.

Passing the exam is not the finish line

A passing result does not by itself confer certification. Under the live operational requirements, you need an NRPP-approved 16-hour measurement course plus a 24-hour RMS mitigation course (coursework valid for two years), you must pass the exam, apply within one year of passing, and agree to the ethics and terms. The handbook also includes a QA/QC attestation and an ID photo. State licensing is separate. The announced revision instead specifies a 32-hour mitigation course including the requisite measurement content, plus lab and field experience, and does not require the former separate 16-hour measurement course. No field-hour minimum or mandatory delivery method has been established, so check RMS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify and confirm with NRPP before you commit to a course.

What happens after you pass

The live operational term is two years with a USD 275 renewal and 12 continuing education hours, at least eight Category I and no more than four Category II, with the mandatory four-hour mitigation standards overview included in the 12. The announced replacement instead specifies 24 CE per two years, including four standards-review hours, and introduces work-sample and experience documentation. Which one applies depends on your renewal cycle, so confirm it rather than assuming. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, see Is the RMS Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026; note that no credential-specific salary premium was verified.

Aiming Above the Line: A Domain-Weighted Plan

Since you cannot target a published number, target the blueprint. The one scheduling idea that matters here is to front-load the heavyweight domains while you are freshest, then use the lighter domains as quick consolidation. Pair this with a deeper method guide such as RMS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.

Week 1

Diagnostics (28%)

  • Work through pressure-field extension scenarios until you can explain the reasoning aloud
  • Practice reading diagnostic results and deciding what they imply for design
Week 2

System Design (24%)

  • Drill radon fan and pipe sizing problems using the formula resources you will have on screen
  • Link each design choice back to a diagnostic finding
Week 3

ASD Mitigation System Installation (23%)

  • Review installation practice and safety considerations against the referenced ANSI/AARST standards
  • Tie installation steps back to the design they implement
Week 4

Inspection, General and Post-mitigation (25% combined)

  • Cover Inspection (13%), General (4%) and Post-mitigation (8%)
  • Finish with timed full-length practice under a three-hour limit

Use realistic RMS practice questions to find weak domains early, and keep a running list of the topics where your answers rely on guessing. Because the legacy material includes troubleshooting, quality assurance and worker health and safety plan content, do not ignore those topics even if the six-domain blueprint is the version you expect; a form change may not have reached your booking. Test yourself regularly in the RMS practice test environment so the interface and pacing feel familiar before the proctored session.

Key Takeaway

Treat 75% of your effort as a Diagnostics, System Design and ASD installation project, then spend the remainder confirming you are competent in the lighter domains. That distribution mirrors where the blueprint places its weight.

Frequently Asked Questions

What score do I need to pass the NRPP RMS exam?

A current numeric cutoff is not publicly specified. The handbook describes a criterion-referenced competent-performance standard established through expert judgment. Do not assume 70%, which is associated with a different certifying body.

How many questions are on the RMS exam?

It depends on which form you receive. The live operational page states 165 total questions (150 scored plus 15 unscored trial items); the May 2026 update specifies 175 (160 scored plus 15 pilot items). Both allow three hours. Confirm your form when you book.

Are there unscored questions on the exam?

Yes. Both descriptions include 15 unidentified unscored trial or pilot questions. You cannot tell which they are, so answer every question carefully.

What happens if I fail the RMS exam?

Retakes require a 30-day wait, with no more than four attempts per 12 months. The published operational exam fee is USD 175 per attempt.

Does passing the exam make me certified?

No. You must also meet the course requirements, apply within one year of passing and agree to the ethics and terms. State licensing is separate. See RMS Certification for more on the credential itself.

Because the active exam form, question count and renewal rules are still in transition, check NRPP's live exam page and registration route right before you book, and use the domain weights above as your compass while the official numeric standard stays unpublished.

Ready to pass your RMS exam?

Put this into practice with free RMS questions across every exam domain.